Chevrolet Monza Racecar Chassis

DeKon Engineering, LTD

Designed by Lee Dykstra and built by Horst Kwech




Chassis No. Model Year Group First owner Other owners Comment
DeKon 1001 Monza 1975 AAGT/GTO DeKon Engineering, LTD driver Horst Kwech 2. Maurice Carter (1975); 3. Red Dawson (1975-80); 4. John Roberts/John Briggs (1980-); 5. Mike Griffon (-1984); Jeff Barnes (1984-98) Crashed & rebuilt by Kwech, sold to Carter. Destroyed by Red Dawson (NZ).
DeKon 1002 Monza 1975-78 AAGT/GTO Harry Theodoracopulos 2. Bill Wonder (1978~88), 3. Steve Cohen (1988~) 4. Chad Raynal  
DeKon 1003 Monza 1975-76 AAGT/GTO DeKon Engineering, LTD driver Al Unser 2. Michael Keyser (1976); 3. Brad Frisselle (1977~1978)  
DeKon 1004 Monza 1976-79 AAGT/GTO Tom Frank n/a Still raced by Frank in 1979.
DeKon 1005 Monza 1975-81 AAGT/GTO Horst Kwech/DeKon 2. Alan Moffat (75-81) 3. Paul Jones (81-82) 4. Fred Ewing / Neil Brain (82-84) 5. John Tesoriero (84-95) 6.Toby Bean (95-99) 7. Steve Simpson (95-05) 8. Current Owner (05-) Raced in New Zealand and Australia 1975-85, CAMS/ASSC Championship. Currently under restoration in the US.
DeKon 1006 Monza 1976-77 AAGT/GTO Michael Keyser 2. Roy Woods (1977-80) Fitted w/ Twin-Turbo V8 in 1978 by Roy Woods Racing. Setup like RWR as of 2010.
DeKon 1007 Monza 1976-77 AAGT/GTO Jerry Jolly 2. Gerry Wellik (1978-81); 3. Steve Walker (as of 2010) Vintage raced
DeKon 1008 Monza 1976-77 AAGT/GTO Al Holbert 2. John Paul (1977); 3. Joe Gonzalez (1985-88); 4. Private collector  
1009 Camaro         Built as Chevrolet Camaro.
DeKon 1010 Monza 1977 AAGT/TA II Greg Pickett 2. Gerry Wellik Racing/Team LSI (1978-82) GWR/LSI drivers: Jerry Hansen, Doug Rippie, Gerry Wellik
DeKon 1011 Monza 1977-84 AAGT/GTO Chris Cord n/a Still raced by Cord in 1981.
DeKon 1012 Monza n/a AAGT/GTO Ted Field/Interscope 2. Chris Cord (1980-81) Raced twice by Danny Ongais for Interscope. Sold to Cord as second car driven by Jim Adams and Bruce Jenner.
1013 Not built         Never built.
DeKon 1014 Monza 1977 AAGT/GTO Al Holbert 2. Dave Heinz - Budweiser Racing Team (1978); 3. Alfredo Sesana Racing (1983-84)  
DeKon 1015 Buick Skyhawk 1978 IMSA RS Gene Felton   Built as Buick Skyhawk for IMSA Champion Spark Plug Challenge.
DeKon 1016 Monza 1978-84 AS, IMSA, TA Keith Feldott n/a Built for SCCA A Sedan (AS) class. Crashed and rebuilt by Dan Gallant. Raced in IMSA and Trans-Am (1978~1984).
1017 Camaro     S. Burgess   Built as Chevrolet Camaro.
DeKon 1018 Monza 1978 AAGT/GTO Al Holbert Private collector in New York DeKon built #1018 for Al Holbert w/ big-block alum. V8 and transaxle, but IMSA disallowed and it never raced.


Designed and built by Owners of Teams


Chassis Name Model Year Group First owner Next owners (year) Comment
Agor Monza 1975-79 AAGT/GTO Warren Agor n/a  
Baird & Trivette Monza 1983 AAGT/GTO Vista Racing 2. Unknown; 3. Brent O'Neill (abt. 1983-85)  
Fournier Monza 1975-77 AAGT/GTO Bob Lazebnik, Airmaster Fan Co. 2. Tuck Thomas (77-80); 3. Don Cummings (80-83); 4. Bill Stone (1983-2007); 5. Lance Smith (2007-) Bob Lazebnik and John Morton were co-drivers
Gallant 001 Monza 1979 AAGT/TA I Mark Pielsticker, co-driver Dan Gallant none Destroyed at Laguna Seca practice accident April 22, 1979.
Gallant 002 Monza 1980-82 AAGT/TA I Mark Pielsticker
Gallant 003 Monza 1981-82? AAGT/TA I Ardie Oji? One of these Gallant chassis raced by Ardie Oji in Trans-Am and IMSA 1981-82? Raced by Mark Pielsticker?
Hinchliff Monza 1980-84 SCCA-TA Spirit of the Cherokee Nation n/a Raced by James Kersey in 1980-81 and by Glenn Fox in 1982-84.
Huffaker Monza 1980-81 SCCA-TA Art Siri, Jr. American GT Racing n/a  
King Monza 1975-76 AAGT/GTO Tom Nehl, Steve Behr, Janet Guthrie co-drivers 2. Art McKee NZ; 3. John Pollard AU (1979); 4. John Chambers AU; 5. Rowan Harman AU; 6. Geoff Munday AU; 7. Mike Imrie AU; 8. Chris Fing AU; 9. Rowan Harman AU (2004-2005) Grant King built for AAGT/GTO Monza.
Klain Monza 1980 SCCA-TA Pete Klain   Raced by Ron Weaver.
Overbagh 001 Monza 1976-83 AAGT/GTO Hoyt Overbagh n/a Built by Rickets?
Purcell-Small Monza 1979-83 CAMS/ASSC Bob Jane AU w/ co-driver Peter Brock AU 2. ReCar Racing Team (1983) driver Alan Grice '84 ASSC champ; 3. Bryan Thompson '85 ASSC champ; 4. Graeme Whincup -1985 Original Bob Jane Monza first built in Australia in 1979 by Pat Purcell. Underwent major rebuild in early 1983 by Les Small, then sold to ReCar Racing Team, driven by Allan Grice and Dick Johnson.  Car ran at WEC race in 1984
Stairs Monza 1980 SCCA-TA Jack Sandberg 2. Dick Kantrud Raced by Carl Shafer for Sandberg.
Trueman Monza 1975-79 AAGT/GTO Jim Trueman


AAGT All American Grand Touring (IMSA class)
AS SCCA, A Sedan class
ASSC Australian Sports Sedan Championship
c/n Chassis Number or Chassis Name
GTO Grand Touring Over 2.5 liter (IMSA class)
IMSA-GT International Motor Sports Association, Grand Touring category
IMSA-RS International Motor Sports Association, Radial Sedan category
SCCA Sports Car Club of America
TA Trans-Am  (SCCA pro racing series)
TA I Category I  (SCCA Trans-Am)
TA II Category II (SCCA Trans-Am)
Monza GT Registry
Racing Sports Cars
Ultimate Racing History
World Sports Racing Prototypes
Last updated on November 2010